Rescue plan

Michigan City Mayor Duane Parry Moves Forward with American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA)

Mayor Duane Parry announced Thursday that he has finalized the structure of a committee that will review the proposed uses of ARPA funds allocated to Michigan City.

The mayor’s office indicates that the ARPA committee will be made up of nine voting members and one non-voting member. The distribution of committee members will be three representing the administration, three representing the city council, one representative of the Michigan City Economic Development Corporation (EDCMC), one representative of the Reorganization Commission (RDC), one representative of the Chamber of Commerce of the Michigan City, small business, and nonprofit organizations, and a representative from the Office of the Comptroller (non-voting).

Specifically, the ARPA committee will be made up of Michigan City Fire Chief Douglas Legault, Michigan City Police Chief Dion Campbell, and Mayor Duane Parry, representing the administration.
Michigan City Council will be represented by members Bryant Dabney (1st Ward), Angie Nelson Deuitch (At-Large) and Dalia Zygas (At-Large).
The committee will be complemented by Director of Economic Development Clarence Hulse representing EDCMC, Director of Planning and Inspection for the City of Michigan, Skyler York representing RDC, Managing Director of Horizon Bank Craig Dwight representing the Chamber of Commerce, Small Business and Nonprofit Organizations, and Yvonne Hoffmaster. representing the Michigan City Comptroller’s Office.

The ARPA committee will begin meeting to review and prioritize proposed uses of Michigan City’s ARPA funds immediately after administration and city council complete a list of proposed uses.