Rescue plan

Economic Development Administration’s US bailout awards $ 196 million to 24 states; Gina Raimondo quoted

The United States Department of Commerce’s Economic Development Administration (EDA) awards $ 196 million in US bailout grants to 24 US states and territories.

The US bailout stimulus package, enacted in March 2021, allocates its $ 3 billion in funding to six different programs with specific initiatives to advance a range of economic recovery and resilience efforts in affected communities. the COVID-19 pandemic.

The recently awarded grants are funded by the Travel, tourism and outdoor recreation program and will support marketing, infrastructure, manpower and other projects to encourage safe business and international travel, the EDA said on Wednesday.

US Secretary of Commerce Gina Raimondo said the grants will help rebuild the travel and tourism industry and restore the country’s position as a global competitor while aligning with the Biden administration’s Build Back Better initiative.

The $ 750 million travel, tourism and outdoor recreation program includes $ 510 million in state tourism grants as well as $ 240 million in competitive tourism grants.

“State tourism subsidies give states and territories the flexible opportunity to boost their local tourism industry and ensure jobs are restored and tourists return safely,” Raimondo explained.

All 59 U.S. states and territories have received state grants for tourism with this latest batch of awards.

In November, the EDA awarded 34 states and the District of Columbia the first round of scholarships under the Travel, Tourism and Outdoor Recreation program, and the administration has also awarded 30 states grants of $ 1 million as part of its Statewide planning program.

States awarded under this series of grants include:

  • Alabama
  • American Samoa
  • California
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Guam
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Kentucky
  • Northern Mariana Islands
  • Republic of the Marshall Islands
  • Federated States of Micronesia
  • Mississippi
  • New Jersey
  • North Carolina
  • Oregon
  • Republic of Palau
  • Pennsylvania
  • Porto Rico
  • Caroline from the south
  • Tennessee
  • US Virgin Islands
  • Virginia
  • West Virginia